It Begins In Me

031

New Growth – photo by Wild Thing

They tell me
Nothing lasts forever
Not true I say
Love is eternal
It never dies 

Cynics laugh
Shake their head
Say I’m a fool 

Yes … There are lovers
Who drift away
Some who stay
For a lifetime … making
Both of you unhappy 

They point to
These examples
Snickering at me
While their rolling eyes
Thinking me naive 

They don’t know
I’ve learned the
Secret to real love
It begins … by loving me 

A gift to be given
Unconditionally

Wild Thing ©2016
Written for Writing Rebels
Prompt #45 
Writing Rebelsm
5 thoughts on “It Begins In Me

  1. You can’t love another if you don’t love yourself, for sure, but some leave no room then for anyone else…nicely stated, Shelly. I agree, especially the part about staying…easy to stay too long and never a good thing.

Leave a Reply

