My Path

My path
Is unique
Others
Find it odd
It’s okay
Odd
Works for me

Their approval
Or affirmation
Is not required

Accept me
As I am
If you can’t
I’m okay
With that too
Because
It’s my path

When a fork
Splits my path
I choose
Inner compass
Guiding me

Right?
Wrong?
Who can say?
Each chooses
Differently
On their path

Yes, at times
Our paths
Cross
For a time
Run parallel
It doesn’t mean
They’re the same

The universe
Decreed
We’re meant
To meet
Be in each
Others lives

To share
Learn
Even grow
From each other

How long
We’re together
Side by side
Perhaps
A day, season
A year
Or a lifetime
Only the universe
Knows

So …
For our Time
Accept me
Stay or go
I will walk
My path

Wild Thing ©May 29, 2016

Written for Writing Outside the Lines Prompt #41

Fork

2 thoughts on “My Path

Leave a Reply

