Vacation

Vacation

Carnival – photo by Wild Thing

Late night glow
Dim kitchen light
Before him
Stacks of dimes
Nickels, pennies, quarters,
Lined in neat rows 

Pocket change
Saved for a year
To be separated
Counted carefully
For the dull colored sleeves
Waiting to be filled 

Vacation money
Some years more
Others less
This year less
Looks like carnival year
Kid in him smiles 

Whirling rides
Screaming laughter
Hucksters yelling
Games of chance
Corn-dogs and Coca-Cola
Cotton candy dessert 

Star bursts
Rains down
Red and gold
Sparks of beauty
“That’s my favorite Daddy!”
He smiles down 

Night’s end
Three very tired
One carried
A hand held
One hugging a huge bear
Skips along behind

Wild Thing ©2016
12 thoughts on “Vacation

  1. Even so, a trip to the carnival was an emotional affair for kids. Day trips are better than nothing, and, obviously were special for you, too, since I assume the story is true. If not, you’re taking over for Annie. I’ve made that assumption about her stories many times, only to be told she made it up. 😉

    • I’ve borrowed an expression from somewhere (no longer recall the source) by thinking of myself as a student of human nature. But it isn’t always pleasant. At least your story was about something nice. Too many sad stories in real life.

      • It’s true … there are a great many sad stories … but … I always try to find a little grain of happy in them as well … I admit I am a bit of a Pollyanna …

      • Oh but don’t we all? Perhaps tho, one day we each will write that one memorable line … so far I think the best line I’ve written was: “sated … she sleeps” the rest of the poem sucked, but that one line … I’ve yet to find a way to use it in something more worthy of it …

Leave a Reply

