Dear You

"Montani Semper Liberi"

“Montani Semper Liberi”

Dear You

A long, dark night
Waiting for the inevitable
There you were
A stranger to me

She loved me
It was enough for you
Connecting to me
As only family can

As we marked time
Trading stories
As kinsfolk do
You calmed me

Howling wind
Raised my fears
You stood fast
As my champion

She left then
Quietly with grace
You remained
To keep watch

Gratitude
You wouldn’t accept
“Hush little one … rest”
You’d say

You are gone too now
There’s nothing left
But … thank you

9 thoughts on “Dear You

Leave a Reply

