1972

And when no hope was left inside on that . . . starry starry night . . .

And when no hope was left inside on that . . . starry starry night . . .

Eleven years old
American pie
on the radio
this’ll be the
day that I die . . .

when all alone
it was Vincent
on the stereo
Starry Starry Night
I was in love

too young
to understand
Vincent wasn’t
a woman
who died from
unrequited love

so I dreamed
of a love
so powerful, so real
you’d die for it

confident
I knew
one day
I’d have that love
if not, I’d live

youthful
ignorance
how was I to know
that love
would kill me

Wild Thing ©September 25, 2015

2 thoughts on “1972

Leave a Reply

