The Reaping

Sunset on the ridge  . . .  autumn soon will be here.

Sunset on the ridge . . . autumn soon will be here.

The Reaping

How I got tapped for this job I’ll never know.
It’s not like I asked for it.
I said, “How will I know? Can I do this?”
All I heard was, “Make it so.”
No help there.

On I went and in the beginning,
I bungled quite a few cases.
Some were easy, some not.
I submerged any fears I had.
In this job, you can’t let them see fear.

It was sad to see some grovel.
Try to bargain their way out.
Then there were the few,
The truly blessed
Graced with inner radiance.

It would be easy to become jaded
Doing this grim job.
The key is to not lower your standards.
You shoulder their burdens
And continue your reaping.

3 thoughts on “The Reaping

Leave a Reply

